The first missionary religious congregation for women in the history of the Church and the world is the Institute of the Franciscan Missionaries of Mary founded in 1877 by BL. Mary of the Passion, now in the 143rd year of its course.

Franciscan in its essence.
Missionary in its services
Mary - like in its approach.

» Dedicated to universal mission

» Seek strength from the Eucharist

» And offer ourselves in challenging services



Jesús Colina | Apr 14, 2020

Known as the “Via Lucis,” this devotion is meant to complement the Stations of the Cross.

Similar to the Via Crucis (the Way of the Cross), the Via Lucis (the Way of Light) is composed of 14 stations that highlight various episodes in the Gospels that occur after the Resurrection of Jesus.

The Via Lucis is a growing devotion of contemplation, noted by the Catholic Church in the Directory on Popular Piety and Liturgy (n. 153, December 17, 2001).

“For centuries the Via Crucis involved the faithful in the first moment of the Easter event, namely the Passion, and helped to fix its most important aspects in their consciousness. Analogously, the Via Lucis, when celebrated in fidelity to the Gospel text, can effectively convey a living understanding to the faithful of the second moment of the Pascal event, namely the Lord’s Resurrection,” the Holy See explains in the official documen